Winston County AL Probate

County History

The History of Winston County
Winston County is a county of the U. S. state of Alabama, formerly known as Hancock County before 1858. Its name is in honor of John A. Winston, the 15th Governor of Alabama. As of the 2010 census, the population was 24,484. Its county seat is Double Springs.
Winston County was established under the name Hancock County on February 12, 1850, from territory formerly in Walker County. It was originally named for John Hancock, Governor of Massachusetts and famous signer of the American Declaration of Independence, with its county seat at Houston. On January 22, 1858, the county was renamed Winston County to honor Alabama Gov. John A. Winston.
In 1883 the county seat was moved to Double Springs to be near the center of the county, since Cullman County was created from the eastern portion of Winston.
Winston County Archives building open Monday - Wednesday from 9:00am to 4:00pm - Phone # 205-489-5035